Thanks Google Translate!

Usually Google Translate is awesome and it certainly helps me out in many situations now I’m living abroad – however my below Teacher Profile, that I originally wrote in (grammatically correct, articulate [if I don’t say so myself]) English, and then was translated into Japanese for the school website, has been totally butchered!
Instead of saying ‘This competent native speaker is who you want teaching you English’, it’s screaming ‘Don’t get lessons by this woman – she’s an imposter!’ Haha.
I just hope none of our prospective students use Google Chrome’s auto-translate feature like I do so their first impression is not formed from this atrocious example of my language ability, check it out:
Image
Karissa   Carissa

[From]  Australia

Teacher introduced by Aeon

Carissa teacher eager bright. While towards the lesson, make a careful preparation, lessons After Once started, it is a class that does not die smiling and full of joy. Since speak in English so easy to hear, it is popular with students of elementary. By all means, but please try to attend the lessons of Carissa teacher.

Word from the teacher

My motto is “fun lesson”. I think I mean, I want you to learn a lot of lessons for 50 minutes it is, of course, want to laugh a lot together above all. Not only learn English, about cultural differences, I am glad if you Ae learn from each other. Through me, “Aussie (Australia)” For, I would like to know a lot!

Tell me about Hometown!

In the suburbs away about 50 km from the center of Sydney, it is from a small town, of Richmond.The beautiful city surrounded by the river, Richmond, you can relax and rowing, playing in the wake board. Many green farmland so widespread, street trees of the boulevard is very beautiful.

What is your hobby?

I like doing a yoga or exercise through to the gym, you can keep the style to health. Or a walk with friends, to chat a lot also love. If you want to relax, watch a comedy movie, you go out for a meal, or to read a book in the Kindle also I like. And to singing and dancing also I like, but it does not have to be very good!

Why did you want to work in Japan?

This is the first opportunity I thought I felt attracted to Japanese, want to work and live in Japan.Including the Japanese acquaintance, and was very attracted to the place that everyone humble kindness. Feeling Fuji and hot springs, and beautiful gardens and temples, where you want to go increases then, to want to go to Japan more and more is increased.

Categories: Language, Lessons, Uncategorized, Work | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.