Shocking Pic of the Week – The Story

So that, ladies and gentlemen, is a taxidermied Chinese raccoon that the wearer’s father accidentally killed and then decided to turn into a scarf which she happily parades. How sweet. NOT!

Can you believe that? Oh my god. I’ve never seen more disturbing fashion in my life!

The only reason I got close enough to photograph this awful subject was because I heard all this loud commotion in my school lobby this particular day – instead of ooh’s and aah’s Japanese say eeehh’s (accurately likened, by my hilarious Scottish friend complete with contorted facials and matching full body jerks, to the accelerating sound of a race car’s engine when said in quick succession) – and I eventually had to pop my head out of the office to see what all the fuss was about. As suddenly as I appeared around the corner I disappeared back into the office in utter shock and disgust. My own curiosity was quite satisfied with the disturbing glance I regretfully copped yet my head teacher came in to coax me back out to ‘Lobby Talk’ with this student, as she doesn’t get the chance to chat with foreigners often. This is a big part of my job description so I begrudgingly obliged and turned my honestly repulsed reaction into one of enthusiastic inquiry.

The eyes are made of glass, the metal clip in place of its jaw is biting its own leg to form a clasp, people do stare at her in public and freak out when she tells them it is (was?) real, and yes I touched it and its fur was really soft. So soft it should be cute and may well have been when it was alive and breathing and not draped around someone’s fucking neck!

Having just been to Harajuku – one of my newest favourite places in Japan – and seen adorable puppies in Louis Vuitton bags on the arms of even more adorable young women in uber cool, awesomely over-accessorised outfits, I had to see this wretched thing propped in her handbag like a Hollywood pet. As I had already braved touching it and was doing well pretending I didn’t have vomit threatening to come out of my throat, I reached to pick it up but my true feelings got the better of me and I literally shivered and audibly gagged with rejection of the whole idea. Blurgh. She did it for me and then, as expected, I felt ashamed and guilty about my sick imagination.

Wait, I didn’t make road kill into a neck warmer! No, I’m good.

This just wouldn’t be ok in Australia. People just wouldn’t pretend they found it funny, it would bring such harsh criticism and judgement and moral out casting by family, friends, peers and onlookers that you wouldn’t even do it to get a short lived laugh. But here it flies. I’m not shocked that often here but this I just could not believe. Hence the need for the photo evidence.

And on the subject, a shy, timid business man casually mentioning that on the weekend he is going on a road trip with friends to see a dog fight apparently also flies and doesn’t get so much of a raised eyebrow or batted eyelid. Really? I mean, really? I’m sorry but what is wrong with you?! That time, months ago now, it was my last lesson of the day and being totally depleted of energy and patience, I just couldn’t muster the professionalism to conceal my true feelings, I just flat out told him and my staff that it was disgusting and should be illegal – yes that’s right… IT’S ACTUALLY NOT HERE!

I was appalled and outraged that night and my female colleagues (I mention their gender because I thought women were the more caring and sensitive sex) found my comments highly amusing. One even had the audacity, or ignorance, to laugh and say “That’s right, you really love animals in Australia, don’t you? You even have a service that helps them when they’re injured.” Even? Even? I thought every country did that? Nope, I was wrong. Wrong and horrified that they considered our wonderful WIRES a comical, needless overreaction.

The apathy towards domestic pets fighting to kill for paid entertainment and helpless animals injured by human interference was truly sickening. As much as I knew I should have got off my little soap-box and stopped repeating my dramatically high-pitched single word adjectives every 30 seconds, even if only to end the embarrassing mockery, I felt very proud to be a wildlife loving Australian that night. As I do writing about it now.

Some things are so similar and normal and great here and some so, so, so not.

Categories: Customs, Feelings, Home, Lessons, People, Places, Uncategorized, Work

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.